UAE – Abu Dhabi and Dubai

March 9 -12, 2015

On Christmas morning, after we opened our presents, my phone started “blowing up” with news of a really good deal. There were some really cheap fares on Etihad. Susan gave me permission to go over Spring Break, but she and the kids wanted to stay home. I ended up booking a trip to Abu Dhabi. Abu Dhabi is close to Dubai so I was planning on spending most of my time in Dubai. I would only be in the UAE for about 40 hours. The airfare was a steal at $177 round trip!

I left on Monday morning. I flew to Laguardia in New York and changed airports. Etihad flies directly from JFK to Abu Dhabi. While at JFK, I grabbed a burger at Shake Shack and purchased some other snacks for the plane. The flight over would take 12 1/2 hours. The Etihad planes and service are really nice. I lucked out and had an empty seat beside me. I was able to sleep a little, but I mostly watched movies. I was not real fond of the food they served.

I arrived in Abu Dhabi at 7:30pm on Tuesday.  I then took the free Etihad bus from Abu Dhabi to Dubai.  I was staying at the Radisson Royal Hotel using points.  The hotel was super nice  I went to the grocery store and KFC and then I went to bed.

IMG_4226 IMG_4230 IMG_4231 IMG_4233 IMG_4234 IMG_4235

 

 

Wednesday morning, I got up early and had breakfast at McDonalds.  I was going to do the Hop-on Hop-off bus tour so I could see as much of the city as possible.  First, though, I wanted to go to the top of the Burj Khalifa, the worlds tallest building.  The building is connected to a mall.  I had a taxi drop me off at the mall.  I explored the mall on the way to the Burj.  I got there when it first opened and went straight to the top with no waiting.  The building is beautiful and over the top.  Even the entrance and elevator were cool.  On the observation deck, it was windy and sandy and the visibility was poor.  After lots of pictures and videos, I took the elevator down and walked back through the mall.  The mall felt like the a really nice mall in the U.S. and had every store and restaurant you’ll see in the U.S. including Yogurtland, Cheesecake Factory, Texas Roadhouse and more.

 

 

IMG_4243 IMG_4248 IMG_4256IMG_4260

IMG_4288

IMG_4291

 

IMG_4294 IMG_4297 IMG_4298

 

 

Upon leaving the mall, I joined up with the bus tour.  We went around the city and I got off at the Dubai Museum.  After looking around, I walked to the Old Market.  I enjoyed doing some shopping and haggling.  There weren’t many tourists out this early, so I was getting lots of attention.

 

IMG_4313

IMG_4316

IMG_4318 IMG_4321 IMG_4322 IMG_4323 IMG_4325 IMG_4327 IMG_4329 IMG_4333 IMG_4334 IMG_4335 IMG_4337

 

I joined back up with the tour and got off again to walk through more markets or souks.  First was the Gold Souk.  Every stall and store was loaded with gold.  They say this is the cheapest place to buy gold in the world.  The next stop was the Spice Souk where they had lots of herbs and spices for sale.  I boarded the bus to go to more sights.  I saw the Burj Al Arab, which is the famous building that looks like a sail.  It’s the one with the famous helicopter pad at the top.  I saw the man made islands and we went onto the Palm island.  I got out and explored the Atlantis Palm on the island.

IMG_4339 IMG_4344 IMG_4347 IMG_4348 IMG_4349 IMG_4351 IMG_4357 IMG_4371 IMG_4374  IMG_4388 IMG_4391 IMG_4430 IMG_4438

My last stop was the Mall of Emirates.  This mall is equal to the first mall that I was in.  I had planned on looking at the ski slope that they have in the mall.  I was surprised at how cheap it was, so I paid for 2 hours of skiing.  Everything was included, except gloves.  It was  a unique experience and the skiing was actually really good.

IMG_4444

IMG_4446 IMG_4452 IMG_4456  IMG_4476  IMG_4483

 

 

Thursday morning, I got up early so I could see some of Abu Dhabi.  My flight was around lunch time.  I took the free bus to the airport and hired a taxi.  The taxi driver was very friendly and gave me a tour of Abu Dhabi.  The main attraction here is the famous Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.  It wasn’t open, so we drove around and looked at it.  It is very impressive.  Next, he took me to the main areas of Abu Dhabi  After the tour, he returned me to the airport in plenty of time to catch my flight.

IMG_4490 IMG_4493 IMG_4495 IMG_4503 IMG_4512 IMG_4525 IMG_4529 IMG_4534 IMG_4535 IMG_4541 IMG_4544 IMG_4547  IMG_4556 IMG_4557

 

The return trip had the same itinerary as the first part.  I went through New York and got more Shake Shack at JFK. It was neat that I cleared US immigration in the Abu Dhabi airport.  I was a little nervous about this trip because I’d never been to the Middle East.  The whole time I felt safe, even when I was alone.  I was told they have almost no violent crimes in the UAE.

Leave a Reply

